Rollouts

Rollouts

Overview

A rollout adds a step version to the workflow, and it serves several purposes:

  • It encourages collaboration and allows step authors to iterate on a step independently and only create a rollout when it’s ready.
  • It makes it easy to roll back a step without impacting other steps in the workflow.
  • It provides a way to control how steps run in the workflow, such as using shadow mode and percentage rollout.

Changes to rollouts result in a new workflow version. To go live, you still need to deploy the workflow.

Create a rollout

For most steps, you can create a rollout in the Active mode by selecting the step and its version.

image

For rules, you can create a rollout in two modes:

  • Active mode. The decision of the rule will impact the decision of the rule stage and the workflow. You also need to specify a rollout percentage, which determines what percentage of the requests will run the rule.
  • Shadow mode. The decision of the rule won’t impact the decision of the rule stage or the workflow. This way, you can analyze the performance of the rule before switching to active mode.
image
icon
A step can only have one rollout in each mode. For example, if a rule already has a rollout in the Active mode, a new rollout in the Active mode will replace the previous one.

Update a rollout

You can only update the rollout of rules. You can update its mode and rollout percentage.

image

Delete a rollout

Before you delete a rollout, make sure the step isn’t used by other steps in downstream stages. For example, you can’t delete the rollout of a Formula if it’s being used by another rule.

Best practice

To roll out a rule for the first time:

  • Roll out the rule in shadow mode to evaluate its performance. You can look at analytics and spot-check rule hits by searching ExecutionsExecutions
  • If it looks good, update the rollout to active mode with a rollout percentage. Choose the percentage (usually 1% to 10%) based on your volume.
  • Update the rollout percentage to 100% if everything looks good.

To roll out a new version of a rule when an existing version is active:

  • Roll out the new version in shadow mode.
  • If the new version performs better than the old version, update its rollout to active mode. This will automatically delete the rollout of the old version.
  • If the new version doesn’t perform better than the old version, simply delete its rollout.